Have You Heard About That Girl?

So I feel like my first blog post is really going to set the tone for my whole page. I don’t have a focus, a hobby I’m good at, or even a subject I have real knowledge in, so this first impression is everything. That’s why I am going to write about all the reasons people think I’m weird starting all the way from the beginning.

  • My birthday is on 9/11: Believe it or not people think that you can actually choose what day you’re born on. In 2001, I was turning 5 years old and you can bet your bottom dollar I was blamed for the terrorist attack in pre-school. I thought Tristan and Jenna were my ride or dies but they left me as soon as they realized what was written on the birthday cake above my name in the classroom.
  • I played 2 years of little league baseball: Kids at school made fun of me all the time for playing baseball because I was a girl. It’s hard to let the haters faze you when even the boys on the team admit that you can hit the farthest. So take that Cody M. from the first grade.
  • I put butter on PBJ: Don’t knock it before you try it. My mom always made my PBJ sandwiches with butter so I never knew different when I was little, but kids at the lunch table always made to sure to inform me that it “isn’t a PBBJ”…whatever nerds.
  • I forgot to take my PJ pants off before putting on my overalls: Wait, hear me out for a second, do you understand how early elementary school starts? 7:40…7:40!!!! I was never a morning person. My mom finally started letting me pick out what I wanted to wear…yeah the fourth grade might have been kind of late but it was because she even knew that I didn’t function until after 9am at least. I realized I was still wearing my PJ pants when I went to bathroom after lunch, but the best part about all of this is I didn’t even try to hide it. I sat on the toilet with both layers of pants around my ankles yelling at my friend to look under the stall so I could show her. I guess my decision not to hide it was what made me weird.
  • I sang Bust A Move in front of the 7th Grade: At my middle school, everyone was forced to take music appreciation. Our class had “Freestyle Fridays” where the teacher would randomly pick students to sing whatever song they wanted in front of the class. I was that kid that never planned anything because I never thought I would get picked and I honestly didn’t really care. Then the day came where I was I called to the front of the room and at the time it was the one song I knew every single word to. I never thought I was capable of singing a song in front of a class, but I surprised everyone that day by taking that song a little too literally.
  • I ran to school: Before you get too impressed with my cardio, I owe you full disclosure…I lived a 1.3 miles away from school. On the days when both my parents worked and couldn’t take me to school I was supposed to take the bus. Well, like I said earlier…not a morning person. I made it on the bus probably twice a week. The rest of the time I was usually forced to run to school otherwise I would be late and they would call my parents. Have you ever ran with a bookbag on? Have you ever ran with a bookbag on passed the car line in front of all your friends? Have you ever seen someone look cool running with a book bag on?
  • Wearing slippers to school: Apparently wearing slippers year round is frowned upon on high school. Yeah, right? I don’t understand that either.
  • Cross Country: I’m leaving this one so open because it was the reason for lots of ridicule. First, I hated it which is why I often cut the trails short. Karma caught me when I jumped the fence and tore my pants completely off. Kids on the team already thought I sucked because I was so slow, so running back across campus stretching my t shirt passed my butt didn’t exactly improve the team’s rep any. Second, during a meet I opted out of what I thought was nervous pee I get before a race. 2.5 miles in I realized it was a real pee…a very real pee. As I crossed the finish line it wasn’t hard for anyone to notice the stain on my pants, so I wore it with what little pride I had left.
  • Oatmeal Addiction: In college, I always try to buy cheap meals. That’s how I fell in love with oatmeal. My roommate hated me every time I threw it in the microwave because it would smell up our entire dorm so much that our hall even complained. It was so bad that I even started to smell like oatmeal…this was next level stuff though. During an intramural game all my sisters started smelling oatmeal because the more I sweat, the stronger the smell…and that my friends is how you get the nickname Oats.
  • I’ve never had a boyfriend: OH MY GOSH, WHAT?! Crazy right? Who wouldn’t want all this? No, but on the real people think I’m insane for this. I’ve had guys that I could have dated sure, but I really don’t want to waste my time. I have a lot of guy friends that I don’t want to take anything farther with because our friendship means too much. Aghhh I know, typical girl answer. I don’t want to waste your time and my time if I know from the start that it isn’t going to work out. So, you’re actually welcome boys out there. Allllllllll 2 of you.

I’m sure these are the not all the reasons why my classmates think I’m weird. I’m not proud of all these things, but I’m proud of how I reacted to each of them. I think it is how you handle life’s situations that define you as person. I guess I didn’t handle them like everyone else would and if it’s that what defines me as weird than I don’t want to be normal. I think it’s important to laugh at myself because if I didn’t than no one else would.

Leave a comment